Arriving and Visa Procedure In Nepal

Arriving and Visa Procedure In Nepal

Arriving and Visa Procedure in Nepal

Beside its giant mountains that borders Tibet and India in Sikkim, other world’s highest peak lies within Nepal, capturing 8th world highest mountains from the world’s 14th Mt. Everest, Mt. Kanchenjunga, Mt. Lhotse, Mt. Makalu, Mt. Cho Oyu, Mt. Dhaulagiri, Mt. Manaslu and the 10th highest Mt. Annapurna massive range.

Kathmandu itself has more World Heritage Sites within its valley including Lalitpur (Patan) and Bhaktapur, as soon you land in Kathmandu you will observe many Hindu temples, Buddhist Chaitiya, Stupa and monasteries.

You can arrive Nepal by Air or Ground Transportation through the border entry points at Kakadvitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Gaddachowki. There is only one international Airport in present time at Nepal called Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA).

Visa Information
A visa for Nepal can be obtained on Arriving at TIA (Tribhuvan International Airport) or at border entry point Kakadvitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Gaddachowki on the Nepal-India border and Kodari on the Nepal-China border.
Outside of Nepal, A visa can also be obtained at the nearest Nepal Embassy or Diplomatic Mission. To renew a Visa you can go to the Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, and Kathmandu.

  • A valid passport and one passport -size photo with a light background.
  • Visa can be obtained only through payment of cash in the following currency: Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen. Credit card, Indian currency and Nepali currency are not accepted as payment of visa fee

Tourist Visa

Visa Facility Duration Fee
Multiple Entry 15 US$25 or Equivalent Convertible Currency
Multiple Entry 30 US$40 or Equivalent Convertible Currency
Multiple Entry 90 US$100 or Equivalent Convertible Currency
  1. Nepal Visa for Chinese Nationals

As per official circular of the Embassy of Nepal in Beijing, China, Chinese nationals applying for tourist visa to Nepal are being provided “gratis tourist visa” from Jan. 5, 2016, from following Nepali missions in the People’s Republic of China:

Embassy of Nepal, Beijing

Consulate General of Nepal, Lhasa

Consulate General of Nepal, Hong Kong

Honorary Consulate of Nepal, Shanghai

  1. Other Visa Information

Nationals from Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan will need to obtain visa from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries, as they do not get visa on arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal.


  1. Visa Extension for Nepal

Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days in a visa year (Jan 1 to Dec 31).

Learn more about applying for Nepal visa online by clicking here Online Visa Application for Nepal